Skip to product information
1 of 6

CASS / THE HUMAN ELEPHANT — Circle around the moon

CASS / THE HUMAN ELEPHANT — Circle around the moon

Regular price $ 19.50 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 19.50 USD
Markdown Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Circle around the moon
Released in September 2013

"Circle around the Moon" is a complex collection of recordings made by John E. Donald over the past few years, connected in a random and emotional way, not by time or by a session. While "White Thunder" (Umor Rex 2011) shows The Human Elephant (John E. Donald) within certain parameters of post-punk and with the characteristics of a band, "Circle around the Moon" is a completely internal draft, without an official setup and a schematized lineup, which includes some collaborations with Sam Shackleton and Bernd Jestram from Tarwater. "Circle around the Moon" has moments with pop elements, but this album is something completely heterogeneous and different, where John E. Donald has opened the spectrum to experimentation and other forms of attire, without leaving behind the distinctive characteristics of The Human Elephant or improvisation. There are analogies with soul music, where the central axis is the use of old samplers, there are exotic dub interludes, and instrumental pieces that seem like terrifying but beautiful lullabies. There is also space for the references one usually finds in his work, and pieces that show his close collaboration over the years with Bernd Jestram (Tarwater), with whom he formed the band Rats Live On No Evil Star. The invisible but well-interwoven line connecting the ideas in this album reveals networks that are within John E. Donald's imagination, which is in a moment of musical experimentation, playing with different forms without completely straying from his melodic pop vein and exotic psychedelia.

All music by Björn Granzow. Photos by Corentin Kopp. Design by Daniel Castrejón.

TRACKLIST / 47 mim

01 Duel On The Dance Floor
02 Catherine
03 Are You My Love
04 Rooftops
05 Your Letters
06 Circle Around The Moon
07 Dog Meets Cat
08 Fantastic Knight of Columbus
09 Jimmy
10 Fishing for Souls
11 Nine Dollar
12 What The Sponge Said as a Backseat Driver
13 What The Whale Said to the Sponge
14 What You Eat for New Year

Umor Rex album page / Spotify 

UMOR REX Is a window with a unique vision towards experimental music. It is a label worth discovering through the ear, both for electronic music lovers and for those curious to explore new forms of artistic expression.

Founded in 2006 in Mexico City, UMOR REX is an independent record label whose challenging and experimental catalog, in vinyl and cassette format, spans from ambient to electronic experimentation, dub, and avant-garde. They release the work of artists in constant exploration of new sound territories, such as Felicia Atkinson, Driftmachine, Rafael Anton Irisarri, Gudrun Gut, Siavash Amini, among many others.

View full details