Skip to product information
1 of 1



Regular price $ 20.80 USD
Regular price $ 35.50 USD Sale price $ 20.80 USD
Markdown Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Art / Critique / History

Yoko Ono (Tokyo, Japan, 1933) began her artistic practice in Japan in the early 1950s. Her first involvement in the art world was closely linked to the Gutai group, one of the most important artistic collectives of the post-war era, particularly focused on performance, happenings, and installation art. After moving to New York in 1952, Ono became a part of Fluxus, a movement founded by George Maciunas that sought to create new artistic forms centered around action and active audience participation. In the early 1960s, Ono performed various pieces, including the famous "Cut Piece" (1964). In the same year, her renowned book, "Grapefruit," was published by Wunternaum Press in Tokyo.

This book presents a series of instructions that invite readers to disengage, through contemplation, from a world alienated by consumption and the frantic production of information and merchandise. In this work, where Ono explores the relationship between art and life through everyday phenomena, pausing to observe and/or listen becomes an artistic experience in itself.

Alias offers its readers a facsimile of the first Spanish edition of "Grapefruit" (titled "Pomelo" in Argentina), published in 1970 by Ediciones de la Flor, with a translation by Susana Lugones (Buenos Aires, 1925-1978), better known as Pirí Lugones. She was an Argentine writer, journalist, editor, and translator. On December 20, 1977, Pirí was abducted and disappeared by "task groups" during the military dictatorship that ruled Argentina between 1976 and 1983.

"This is the best book I ever burned." - John Lennon

Author: Yoko Ono
Publisher: Editorial Alias
Binding: Paperback
Format: 14 x 21.5 cm
Number of Pages: 296
Number of Images: 294
Weight: 290 gr.
Genre: Art
Language: Spanish
Printing: One ink
Year: 2020
Printed in Mexico

View full details