Skip to product information
1 of 3

LP / KARA-LIS Coverdale and LXV — Sirens [REPRESS 2023]

LP / KARA-LIS Coverdale and LXV — Sirens [REPRESS 2023]

Regular price $ 45.00 USD
Regular price $ 41.99 USD Sale price $ 45.00 USD
Markdown Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release Nov. 2023.

Eight years after its original release in 2015, and having sold out upon hitting the market, we finally present the vinyl reissue of 'Sirens' by Kara-Lis Coverdale and LXV. This new edition is limited to 500 copies and comes with revised artwork.

Inspired by the connection between seduction and violence, 'Sirens' comprises a series of anamorphic pieces with a wide timbral spectrum that positions the voice as a newly imagined tool of multiplicity. Sample manipulation processes, signal processing, routing, and source design inform the instrumental writing and performance, feeding back into each other, flickering between states of conflict and consonance. Appearances of the schizophrenic voice that fracture and cool at one moment and are filled with warmth and vivacity at the next, embody velvet rituals of romanticism in the digital age.

Ultimately, 'Sirens' is music for ambitious dreamers: surreal soundscapes that sound like the warmth of the world on a frozen virtual altar. LXV's vocal truncations and fleshy sound palettes represent the archiving of breath and auditory fantasies of the flesh, which Coverdale situates amidst a vast and boundless landscape of deeper, unknown force. Harmonically active and dynamically sustaining orchestrations underpin post-sacred tones, while menacing tubular organs, sphinx-like flutes, and storms of metallic percussion characterize uniquely disarticulated discussions between disparate compositional ontologies. Sometimes violent and at other times serenely peaceful and seductive, these pieces, in their most powerful moments, illuminate a sensed space between cybernetic energy and the body.

Composed and recorded by Kara-Lis Coverdale and David Sutton. Mastered by John Tejada. Cover photography by Cody Cobb. Design by Daniel Castrejón.

TRACKLIST / 44 minutes

01 Tunnel Vision
02 Territory of Subtle Entries
03 Disney
04 Grigori in Jakarta
05 Buffering Landscape
06 Sub

View full details