Skip to product information
1 of 3

CASS / KOHL - Learned Ethics / Imposed Ethics

CASS / KOHL - Learned Ethics / Imposed Ethics

Regular price $ 19.50 USD
Regular price $ 14.70 USD Sale price $ 19.50 USD
Markdown Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

CASSETTE Released March 2018

Kohl is the dub-based project of New York City artist and musician Nathaniel Young. With Kohl, Nathaniel focuses on enveloping melodies and sounds that are often contrasted with subtle and evolving minimal textures and the rhythmic patterns generated from them. The resulting music is contemplative and warm, invoking reflection while maintaining a sense of motion and evolution. The Kohl project is an outlet for personal transformation; it is Young rewiring his understanding of morality and ethics, interpreting concepts of 'right' and 'wrong,' 'good' and 'evil.' Musically, "Learned Ethics / Imposed Ethics" is a fine collection of ultra-textural ambient pieces with minimal changes like "The Possibility Of The Infinite," slow-tempo tracks like "Moral Supposition," the dance-floor-focused "Resolution (Empathy)," and "The Inquisition," which displays Kohl's signature dub-techno style.

Recorded and produced in summer 2016 in NYC by Nathaniel Young. Vocal portions on tracks 3-4 contain dialogue between Nathaniel Young and Warren Mark Way. Mastered by Dino Spiluttini in Vienna. Design & photo by Daniel Castrejón.

TRACKLIST / 31 minutes

01 The Possibility Of The Infinite
02 Moral Supposition
03 Moral Autonomy
04 The Inquisition
05 Resolution (Empathy)

Umor Rex album page / Spotify


UMOR REX is a window with a unique vision of experimental music. It's a label worth discovering through your ears, both for electronic music lovers and for those curious to explore new forms of artistic expression.

Founded in 2006 in Mexico City, UMOR REX is an independent record label with a challenging and experimental catalog, in vinyl and cassette formats, spanning from ambient to electronic experimentation, dub, and avant-garde. They release the work of artists constantly exploring new sonic territories, such as Felicia Atkinson, Driftmachine, Rafael Anton Irisarri, Gudrun Gut, Siavash Amini, among many others. 

View full details